The Strong And Committed Defense You Need
Against Criminal Charges

Minimum amount to be considered theft

| May 19, 2021 | Theft |

Texas theft laws establish different classifications of crimes of this nature. The manner in which the laws are structured consists of different categories of theft based on the value of the stolen property, and the associated penalties increase with the value of the stolen property.

Is there a minimum value to be considered theft in Texas?

The direct answer to whether there is a minimum value amount to be considered theft in Texas is “no.” If an item has any recognized value at all, the unauthorized taking of that property is considered theft under state law, and the person accused of taking it could be charged with a misdemeanor or felony.

Misdemeanor and felony classifications of theft under Texas law

Texas criminal law has seven different classifications of theft. The least serious classification is a class C misdemeanor, which covers theft under $50. A class B theft misdemeanor involves the unauthorized taking of property with a value between $50 and $500. A class A misdemeanor involving theft involves property of a value between $500 and $1,500. Felony classifications include the following:

  • What is known in Texas as a state jail felony is for a theft of property with a value between $1,500 and $20,000.
  • Third-degree felony theft involves property with a value between $20,000 and $100,000.
  • Second-degree felony theft covers property with a value to $100,000 to $200,000.
  • First-degree felony theft is charged when the value of property is over $200,000.

The penalties for theft, particular felony theft, can be significant. Consequently, a person facing the prospects of a theft charge and prosecution should consider retaining the services of an experienced Texas criminal defense lawyer.